Friends

Best-Friends-Ever-In-Tv

For my cultural artifact I chose the popular and famous show Friends. This show aired for 10 years on NBC from September 22, 1994 to May 6, 2004 and I don’t know about you but I learned a lot from this show when I was growing up.  Friends revolves around a group of six best friends including a brother and a sister living their lives in Manhattan. The relationship between every character is sarcastic and loving towards each other. They have known one another since high school or college or even their whole lives. They may say something mean or to make fun of the other but they know they don’t mean it.  This is showing us a common language that we have learned and shared in the real world. Even though this is just a TV show, it has influenced all of us for the better. This show is fast-paced and for my I feel like I was apart of the group since I could feel everything that was going on between the characters.

Although the producers thought of Friends as “only a TV show”, numerous psychologists investigated the cultural impact of Friends during the series’ run. Aniston’s hairstyle was nicknamed “The Rachel”, and copied around the world. Joey’s catchphrase, “How you doin’?”, became a popular part of Western English slang, often used as a pick-up line or when greeting friends. Matthew Perry’s (Chandler) habit of ending a sentence unfinished for sarcasm also influenced viewers’ speech.

This video I have posted above has to be one of my favorite episodes of all time. This clip shows a great example of the relationship between the characters and how event like this is normal for this group of friends. Friends have also developed an alternative family lifestyle by representing young people that live unconventional domestic lives. It presents the idea that “all you need is good friends” and can construct families through choice. It portrays a new way of living life and developing relationships which are not normally seen in conventional society. According to pop-culture expert at the University of Buffalo, Friends is “one of those rare shows that marked a change in American culture”. The images of youth and the roles they portray are better defined and represent a lifestyle that centers on creating and sustaining relationships between friends running their own lives and seeking help from each other. They are on their own and struggling to survive in the real world, find the companionship, comfort and support they get from each other to be the perfect antidote to the pressures of life.

Friends has been a TV show that most of my generation and older have grown up with and learned from. This blog assignment has helped me to see clearer about the use of nonverbal communication especially now that I can connect this skill to Friends and while watching the show I can point out the importance of nonverbal communication. I have also realized how important these cues are and that I should pay more attention to my reactions to make sure I get the point across correctly and not misinterpreted.

Leave a Reply

